Number of Major Histocompatibility Complex MHC classes

Value 3 unitless
Organism Human Homo sapiens
Reference Complete sequence and gene map of a human major histocompatibility complex. The MHC sequencing consortium. Nature. 1999 Oct 28401(6756):921-3PubMed ID10553908
Comments The MHC genome region has been divided into three regions: class II (centromeric), class III and class I (telomeric). Classes I & II encode heterodimeric peptide-binding proteins. MHC class III Encodes for other immune components.A set of more than seven genes involved in inflammation, including three members of the tumour necrosis factor (TNF) superfamily, within the class III region is sometimes specified as the class IV region
Entered by Uri M
ID 102655